Medicaid Covered Outpatient Prescription Drug Reimbursement Information by State

Quarter Ending June 2012

ASP=average sale price, AWP=average wholesale price, WAC=wholesaler acquisition cost, FFS=fee for service, U/C=Usual and Customary,
State MAC=State Maximum Allowance Cost, FUL=Federal upper limit, 340B=prices charged to covered entities under the Public Health Services
Act and AAC=actual acquisition cost

NH=nursing home, FQHC=Federally Qualified Health Centers

*CMS Approved State Plans or State Source

Revised — 7/23/2012

Copayment information has been deleted from this reimbursement chart. You can locate general copayment information at
http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Cost-Sharing/Cost-Sharing.html.

STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC
State of Ingredient cost is AAC or if not available WAC plus Dispensing fee is $10.64; $10.00 (tablet STATE MAC Yes
Alabama 9.2%, or U/C; blood clotting factors: ASP +6% splitting); $10.00 (long term drug maintenance)

State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 5% Dispensing fee is $3.45 to $11.46 (based on STATE MAC No
Alaska pharmacy/Medicaid volume)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15%; FQHCs and Dispensing fee is $2.00 (FFS only); $8.75 STATE MAC No
Arizona FQHC Look-alikes at the lesser of billed charges or the | (FQHCs and FQHC Look-alikes)

340B ceiling price
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 20% (generic); AWP Dispensing fee is $5.51 STATE MAC Yes
Arkansas minus 14% (brand)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17% Dispensing fee is $7.25; $8.00 (legend drugs STATE MAC Yes
California dispensed to residents in skilled nursing facilities

or intermediate care facilities)

State of Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 45% (generic); | Dispensing fee is $4.00 (retail pharmacy); $1.89 | STATE MAC Yes
Colorado AWP minus 14.5% (brand); Direct Price plus 18%; (institutional pharmacy)

AWP minus 12% (approved rural )



http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Cost-Sharing/Cost-Sharing.html

STATE

INGREDIENT COST

DISPENSING FEE

STATE MAC

State of
Connecticut

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 72% with
exceptions(selected multi-source brand and generic);
AWP minus 16% (brand)

Dispensing fee is $2.00*

STATE MAC Yes

State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 14% (traditional, retail Dispensing fee is $3.65 STATE MAC Yes
Delaware independent & retail chain pharmacies); AWP minus

16% (non-traditional, long term care & specialty

pharmacies)
District of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 3% Dispensing fee is $4.50 STATE MAC Yes
Columbia
State of Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 16.4% or WAC | Dispensing fee is $3.73 (for non-340B billed STATE MAC Yes
Florida plus 1.5% drugs); $7.50 (340B billed drugs)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11%; Select Specialty Dispensing fee is $4.63 (for-profit pharmacy); STATE MAC Yes
Georgia Pharmacy Rate for certain disease states that are rare $4.33 (not-for-profit)

and/or complex with a reimbursement methodology

determined by wholesaler/manufacturer data, a

comparison to other State agencies’ reimbursement

information, and publicly available drug prices from

other payers;

Maximum allowable reimbursement for an injectable

drug administered by a provider or their designee in an

outpatient setting is ASP plus 6% as determined on

January 1% of the applicable year;

Most Favored Nations rate submitted by the provider

and accepted by the State
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 10.5% Dispensing fee is $5.00 STATE MAC Yes
Hawaii
State of Ingredient cost is average AAC, or where there is no Tiered dispensing fees: STATE MAC Yes
Idaho average AAC reimbursement is WAC Less than 39,999 claims a year = $15.11

Between 40,000 and 69,999 claims per year =
$12.35
70,000 or more claims per year = $11.51




STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC
State of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 1% ( multiple source Dispensing fee is $6.35 (multiple source); $3.40 | STATE MAC Yes
Illinois legend); WAC plus 1% ( single source legend); WAC | (single source)

plus 25% (over-the-counter drugs)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (brand); AWP Dispensing fee is $3.00 STATE MAC Yes
Indiana minus 20% (generic); Reimbursement for physician

administered drugs is WAC plus 5% or ASP plus 6%
for those drugs without a published WAC

State of lowa

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 12%

Dispensing fee is $4.34

STATE MAC Yes

State of Ingredient cost is WAC minus 8.6% (generic); WAC Dispensing fee is $3.40 STATE MAC Yes
Kansas plus 4.6% (brand); Invoice pricing for drugs without

WAC or SMAC
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 14% (generic); AWP Dispensing fee is $5.00 (generic); $4.50 (brand) | STATE MAC Yes
Kentucky minus 15% (brand)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.5% (independent Dispensing fee is $5.77* STATE MAC Yes
Louisiana pharmacies); AWP minus 15% (chain pharmacies)

Reimbursement for Cost of the Influenza Vaccine at:

$17. 37 for intramuscular injected influenza vaccine -

preservative free, $13.22 for intramuscular injected

influenza vaccine, and $22.03 for intranasal influenza

vaccine or billed charges, whichever is the lesser

amount
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15%; AWP minus 17% | Dispensing fee is $3.35; $1.00 (mail order); STATE MAC Yes
Maine (direct supply); AWP minus 20% (mail order) $4.35 and $5.35 (compounding); $12.50 (filling

insulin syringe)




STATE

INGREDIENT COST

DISPENSING FEE

STATE MAC

State of Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12%, WAC Dispensing fee is $3.51(generic); $2.56(brand); | STATE MAC Yes
Maryland plus 8%, direct price plus 8% or distributor price when | $4.46 (generic to NH); $3.51 (brand to NH);
available $6.89 (home IV therapy)
State of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 5% (all drugs except Dispensing fee is $3.00 (all drugs except 340B STATE MAC Yes
Massachusetts | 340B billed drugs); actual acquisition cost (340B billed | billed drugs); $10 (340B billed drugs)
drugs)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.5% (independent Dispensing fee is $2.75 (long term care); $2.50 | STATE MAC Yes
Michigan pharmacy (1 to 4 stores); AWP minus 15.1% (chain all other providers; $6.00 (cream, emulsion,
pharmacies (5+ stores) nasal drops, ointments or optic drugs); $10.00
(compounded capsules, powders or
suppositories)
State of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2%; Dispensing fee is $3.65 ( plus $0.30 for legend STATE MAC Yes
Minnesota Ingredient cost is WAC plus 4% (independently owned | unit dose drugs)
pharmacies located in a small rural or isolated rural
location)
State of Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12% or WAC | Dispensing fee is $3.91 (brand); $5.50 (generic) | STATE MAC Yes
Mississippi plus 9% (brand); AWP minus 25% (generic)
State of Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 10.43% or Dispensing fee is $4.09 STATE MAC Yes
Missouri WAC plus 10%
State of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% Dispensing fee is $6.40; $12.50 to $22.50 STATE MAC Yes
Montana (compounding)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11% Dispensing fee is $3.27 to $5.00 (based on STATE MAC Yes
Nebraska service delivery, unit dosage or 3" party
payors)*
State of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% Dispensing fee is $4.76; $22.40 daily (home IV | STATE MAC No
Nevada therapy); $16.80 daily (nursing facility IV

therapy)




STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC
State of New | Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% or WAC plus 0.8% | Dispensing fee is $1.75; Compound dispensing | STATE MAC Yes
Hampshire fee is $1.75

State of New
Jersey

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17.5%

Dispensing fee is $3.73 up to $3.99 (twenty-four
hour emergency service and impact area
location)*

STATE MAC Yes

State of New
Mexico

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 14%; WAC as
submitted to State; manufacturer price as submitted to
State; pharmacy invoice price as obtained through
audits

Dispensing fee is $2.50 except in the instances
when pharmacist uses product selection, in
which case it is $3.65

STATE MAC Yes

State of New
York

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17% (brand); AWP
minus 25% (generic)

Dispensing fee is $3.50 (generic); $3.50 (brand)

STATE MAC Yes

State of North
Carolina

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 7% or AWP minus 14.5%
if WAC is not available, ASP plus 2.39% or AWP
minus 13.61% when ASP is not available for physician
administered drugs

Dispensing fee is $5.60 (generic); $4.00 (brand)

STATE MAC Yes

State of North
Dakota

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 10% or WAC
plus 12.5%

Dispensing fee is $5.60 (generic legend drugs);
$4.60 (brand legend drugs); 1.5 times the
allowed amount (EAC, FUL, or MAC) up to a
maximum of $4.60 (non-legend drugs that are
prescribed; plus $0.15 per pill (pill splitting)

STATE MAC Yes

State of Ohio

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 7%; AWP minus 14.4%
(if WAC cannot be determined)

Dispensing fee is $1.80

STATE MAC Yes

State of
Oklahoma

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12%;
WAC + 5.6% (if AWP is not available); ASP +6%
(injectable drugs)

Dispensing fee is $4.02

STATE MAC Yes




STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC
State of Ingredient cost for single source and multiple source Dispensing fee varies by claims volume; less STATE MAC No
Oregon drugs is AAC or where there is no AAC than 30,000 claims a year is $14.01; between

reimbursement is WAC 30,000 and 49,999 claims per year is $10.14;
50,000 or more claims per year is $9.68
State of Ingredient cost is lower of WAC plus 7% or AWP Dispensing fee is $4.00; $5.00 (compounding) STATE MAC Yes

Pennsylvania

minus 14%

State of Rhode | Ingredient cost is WAC Dispensing fee is $3.40 (outpatient), $2.85 (long | STATE MAC No
Island term care)

State of South | Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 16% or WAC | Dispensing fee is $3.00 (independent pharmacy); | STATE MAC Yes
Carolina plus 0.8% $3.00 (institutional pharmacies)

State of South | Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15% Dispensing fee is $4.30; $5.55 (unit dose) STATE MAC Yes
Dakota

State of Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 13%, MAC or | Dispensing fee for TennCare Pharmacy Network | STATE MAC Yes
Tennessee FUL for TennCare Pharmacy Network; Specialty is $2.50 (brand); $3.00 (generic); $5.00 (brand

Pharmacy Rates are set separately

nursing home) $6.00 (generic nursing home);
$25 (compound prescriptions)

State of Texas

Estimated acquisition cost (EAC) is the lower of:
AWP minus 15%; Net cost to wholesaler plus 12%;
Average Direct Chain Contract Price; or MAC

Dispensing fee is $7.35 plus 1.96% of ingredient
cost of drug

STATE MAC Yes

State of Utah | Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17.4% Dispensing fee is $3.90 (urban); $4.40 (rural) STATE MAC Yes
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 14.2% (multiple and Dispensing fee $4.75 (In-State); $2.50 (Out-of- | STATE MAC Yes
Vermont single source); AWP minus 16.5% (large volume out- | State); $19.75 (compound drug fee in-state);

of-state mail order specialty pharmacies) $17.50 (compound drug fee out-of-state)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.1% Dispensing fee is $3.75; $5.00 (unit dose drugs) | STATE MAC Yes

Virginia




STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (single source Dispensing fee is $4.24 to $5.25 (based on 3- STATE MAC Yes
Washington drugs); AWP minus 16% (multi-source drugs with four | tiered pharmacy volume)

or fewer manufacturers/labelers); AWP minus 50%
(multi-source drugs with five or more
manufacturers/labelers and no MAC or FUL)
State of West | Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15% (brand); AWP Dispensing fee is $2.50(brand); $5.30(generic); | STATE MAC Yes
Virginia minus 30% (generic) $8.25 (340B billed drugs)
State of Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% (single source drugs); | Dispensing fee is $3.44 (brand); $3.94 (generic); | STATE MAC Yes
Wisconsin WAC minus 3.8% (multi-source drugs) $0.015 per unit (for repackaging); $9.45 to
$22.16 (compound drug fee); $9.45 to $40.11
(pharmaceutical care dispensing fee)
State of Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11% Dispensing fee is $5.00 STATE MAC No

Wyoming
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